top of page

about our settlement

Life on the Hornbach

Since the beginning of 2021, the new settlement on Hornbach has been gradually moved into. The 127 apartments and commercial premises were built by the city of Zurich. In the run-up to the building loan and during the construction phase, there was a lot of controversial discussion about our settlement. Conservative rejection of "cheap apartments in Seefeld" met with great demand from young families and low-income earners.

We are happy to be able to live here. 70 family apartments, some elderly and singles, large apartments for seniors' shared flats and a group of people with disabilities, as well as a cultural café and commercial premises are almost all occupied. The exchange between the residents and those who do not participate often is made possible by our association.  Here are a few impressions - and as a resident few arguments to become a member. 

IMG_1545_edited.jpg

neighborhood

The HEIMAT (Heimatstrasse) with nice neighbors is right next to us. Although we are a big yellow block, we like to integrate ourselves into the quarter and the little chat about 'd Gass with all of our neighbors.  

The wide green stripe inbetween from next year on will be used for gardening together and should offer residents, neighbors and children a consciously experienced environment.  May be we can build a green bridge here? 

Living by the lake and stream

Yes, it is a privilege to be able to live directly on Lake Zurich. When the apartments were allocated, party affiliation or personal relationships did not play a role. It was raffled and special needs such as those of people with disabilities or other needs were taken into account. By the way, many of our residents are teachers, work in the Quartierhof Weinegg or in non-profit organizations. Members of the district association also live here and are committed to the Zurich district 8008.

Bellerive-u-Suedtrakt-von-Chinagarten.jpg
207086813_3027614724187444_6066530739930759178_n.jpg

Community

As with any larger settlement, there is a great opportunity, while moving in at the same time to get to know each
other well. The many children do their part.

Our common room was right from the start
animated by a team - the ResiBar Group. The exclusive
use for our residents allows for many activities. For gastronomic purposes, the WHIS Kulturcafe will open shortly on the other corner across the street.

bottom of page

top of page

über unsere Siedlung

Leben am Hornbach

Seit anfangs 2021 ist die neue Siedlung am Hornbach nach und nach bezogen worden. 127 Wohnungen und Gewerberäume wurden von der Stadt hier gebaut. Im Vorfeld des Baukredits und während der Bauphase wurde viel und kontrovers über unsere Siedlung diskutiert. Konservative Ablehnung gegen "Billigwohnungen im Seefeld" trafen auf grossen Bedarf für junge Familien und Geringverdiener.

Wir sind froh, hier leben zu dürfen. 70 Familienwohnungen, einige Ältere und Singles, Grosswohnung für Alters-WG und eine Gruppe Menschen mit Handicap sowie ein Kulturcafe und Gewerberäume sind fast alle belegt. Der Austausch unter den Bewohner:innen und das Mitnehmen von denen, die noch nicht überall so aktiv dabei sind, ermöglicht unser Verein.  Hier ein paar

Impressionen - ein Grund als Bewohner:in Mitglied zu werden. 

IMG_1545_edited.jpg

Nachbarschaft

Direkt neben uns liegt die HEIMAT (Heimatstrasse) mit netten Nachbarn. Obwohl wir ein grosser gelber Klotz sind, integrieren wir uns gerne in das Quartier und den kleinen Schwatz über 'd Gass mit allen Nachbarn. 

Der breite grüne Streifen wird ab nä. Jahr von uns fürs gemeinsame Gärtnern genutzt und soll Bewohner*innen, Nachbarn und Kindern ein bewusst erlebtes Umfeld bieten.  Vielleicht können wir die Heimat etwas kombinieren? 

Wohnen am See und Bach

Ja, es ist ein Privileg, direkt am Zürisee wohnen zu dürfen. Bei der Vergabe der Wohnungen spielten aber nicht eine Parteizugehörigkeit oder persönliche Beziehungen eine Rolle. Es wurde verlost und auf besondere Bedürfnisse wie von Menschen mit Handicap oder anderen Bedürfnissen Rücksicht genommen. Viele unserer Bewohner:innen sind übrigens Lehrer*innen, Arbeiten im Quartierhof Weinegg oder in gemeinnützigen Organisationen. Auch Mitglieder des Quartiervereins leben hier und engagieren sich für das Quartier Zürich 8008.

Bellerive-u-Suedtrakt-von-Chinagarten.jpg
207086813_3027614724187444_6066530739930759178_n.jpg

Gemeinschaft

Wie bei jeder grösseren Siedlung besteht eine grosse Chance darin, wenn man zugleich einzieht, sich gut kennenzulernen. Die vielen Kinder tun ihren Teil dazu.

Unser Gemeinschaftsraum wurde gleich von Anfang an
von einem Team - der ResiBar-Gruppe - bespielt. Die Nutzung für unsere Bewohner*innen erlaubt viele Aktivitäten. Für gastronomische Zwecke eröffnet in Kürze an der anderen Ecke gegenüber das Kulturcafe von WHIS.

bottom of page